Sea ice mission in Terre Adélie

  • Eric et Gerard retrouvailles devant L Astrolabe
  • Colonie de manchots Adelie et base DDU

At first, I have to check the state of the sea ice in the vicinity of the ship. What a great surprise then, to see Gérard Guérin arriving, by helicopter from Dumont d'Urville station where he arrived by plane a few days ago. Chainsaw expert, he comes to assist the mooring of the icebreaker. And here we are both mandated by the French Polar Institute (IPEV) to contribute to the good set-up of the big red boat against the pack ice: a nice nod to our long journey around the Arctic aboard Vagabond in 2002-2003. I explore the region for 8 days, from the ice edge, where L'Astrolabe is moored, up to Dumont d'Urville station, 50 km away. The proximity with penguins and seals is incredible. Here, no bear, no fox. No predator. The pack ice is perfect, solid, thick, well snowy, and flat (neither hummock nor sastrugi). Nothing like arriving by snowmobile at DDU to get a good idea of ​​the immensity. I carry on the measurements in the neighbourhood of the base, until the Rocher du Débarquement, where Jules Dumont d'Urville took possession of Adélie Land, in 1840. On November 24, the fuels convoys and helicopters slings are completed, everything has been landed, L'Astrolabe is heading North. The arrival in Hobart on December 1st marks the end of R0 (first rotation). I meet again with my family in Ambato (Ecuador), just in time to feel the earthquake of Sunday, December 3rd at 6:19 am, magnitude 6.2, whose epicentre is a few hundred kilometres only from home!

More:

Look at all pictures from this trip.

Story by Serge Fuster, district leader (mission TA67), to read from the official blog: Un transfert d'enfer.

Great welcoming at Dumont d'Urville.

Special stamp collection, by Eric Sengler, the postal manager of the French base (TA67).

See ship's position live.

Mission in Ecuador.


First trip for the new Astrolabe

  • Mesures epaisseur banquise devant L Astrolabe
  • Eric et manchot Adelie

Here I am back on sea ice, this time in Antarctica. The red boat is moored to the ice edge. First we make a helicopter reconnaissance flight with the expedition leader. Then I get everything ready, the snowmobile, the sled, and the "icemeter" (EM31), needed to measure the thickness of the ice. My mission is to validate the route to the base of Dumont D'Urville, like in 2014. 50km to go on the frozen sea. Objective: 4 to 500 cubic meters of fuel oil to be unloaded, half of what is necessary to run French programs in Antarctica. The rest will be delivered during the next rotation of the ship, before March 2018 (early winter). There is emergency, the stocks of the bases are exhausted at the end of wintering, and last summer conditions have only allowed a minimum resupply.

On September 14th, 2017, the new Astrolabe was delivered to the French Navy. The red icebreaker will now be based in Reunion Island to resupply the French Antarctic bases in the summer (Dumont D'Urville and Concordia), and patrol the waters of the southern lands in winter (Kerguelen, Crozet, Saint-Paul and Amsterdam, Eparses). He thus replaces the old Astrolabe and the Albatross (on which I returned from Kerguelen in January 1995).

November 3rd: heavily loaded with oil and equipment, the polar patrol boat leaves Hobart, Tasmania, towards Adelie Land. Weight of the ship when loaded: more than 4000 tons. On board, 21 sailors and 43 passengers, embarked for the very first rotation. A first for the Navy as well, whose boats have not been south of the 60th parallel for 65 years.

November 7th: stop at Macquarie Island to drop about ten Australian scientists. The sea was rough, crew and passengers were well shaken, so we enjoy the opportunity to relax a few hours, sheltered by the island. A big male elephant seal approaches, 3 killer whales come nearby, and the albatrosses are faithful.

November 9th: arrival in the drifting pack ice, first contact with sea ice for the new Astrolabe, designed to break 80cm (class IB5). 4 engines for 9200CV in total.

November 13th: The Astrolabe reaches the ice edge, 60km from the base. We are welcomed by more killer whales and penguins! Bad weather suspends operations.

November 14th: One of the helicopters is taken out, test flight, mini reconnaissance, aerial photos, nothing more while waiting for a better weather window... we all look forward to disembark and do something!

November 16th: favourable weather! A dozen flights allow the helicopters to bring the mail (54 bags!) and some fresh food to the base (isolated since March 2017), then to transport eleven new winterers and summer scientists and technicians. Vessel side, refuelling operations are starting (R0, first rotation of the 2017-2018 season). The experienced IPEV team (French Polar Institute) is learning little by little to work with the Navy, watched by many curious penguins. And here we go for the seaice mission!

Read about the old Astrolabe: L'Astrolabe, le passeur de l'Antarctique, by Daphnée Buiron and Stéphane Dugast at E/P/A.


A break in Ecuador

  • Tungurahua depuis Ambato

Aurore (7 years old), Léonie (10 years old), France Pinczon du Sel and I are in Ambato, in Ecuador, to collaborate with seismic and volcanic risks prevention. A mission organized by La Guilde, Ecuasol and the European Union, from August 1st, 2017 to December 31st, 2018.

More about this project:

A blog (in French): Vagabond / Latitude Zero

The website of the NGO in Ecuador: [Ecuasol] (http://ecuasol.org/es/que-hacemos/)

Information about La Guilde and EU Aid Volunteers: La Guilde

During this mission that takes us far from the Arctic, our polar sailboat Vagabond is on land in Miquelon. Since 2000, Vagabond has hosted more than 40 scientific programs, did 11 overwinterings, and traveled 60,000 miles in the Arctic.

Mission banquise en Terre Adélie

  • Eric et Gerard retrouvailles devant L Astrolabe
  • Colonie de manchots Adelie et base DDU

Dans un premier temps, je dois vérifier l'état de la banquise dans les environs du navire. Quelle bonne surprise de voir alors arriver Gérard Guérin, en hélico depuis la base de Dumont d'Urville où il est arrivé en avion il y a quelques jours. Expert à la tronçonneuse, il vient assister l'amarrage du brise-glace. Et nous voilà tous les deux mandatés par l'IPEV pour contribuer à la bonne installation du gros bateau rouge contre la banquise : un joli clin d'oeil à notre long périple autour de l'Arctique, à bord de Vagabond, en 2002-2003. J'arpente la région pendant 8 jours, entre le bord de la banquise, où l'Astrolabe est amarré, et la base de Dumont d'Urville, distante de 50 km. La proximité avec les manchots et les phoques est incroyable. Ici, pas d'ours ni de renard. Pas de prédateur. La banquise est parfaite, solide, épaisse, bien enneigée, et plane (ni hummock ni sastrugi). Rien de tel que d'arriver en motoneige à DDU pour avoir une bonne idée de l'immensité. Je complète les mesures dans les environs de la base, jusqu'au rocher du débarquement, où Jules Dumont d'Urville a pris possession de la Terre Adélie, en 1840. Le 24 novembre, le ballet des convois de fioul et des hélicos est terminé, tout a été débarqué, L'Astrolabe reprend la mer. L'arrivée à Hobart le 1er décembre marque la fin de R0 (première rotation). Je retrouve ma famille à Ambato (en Equateur), juste à temps pour ressentir le tremblement de terre du dimanche 3 décembre à 6h19 du matin, de magnitude 6.2, dont l'épicentre se trouve à quelques centaines de kilomètres de la maison !

Pour en savoir plus:

Voir l'album photo du périple.

Récit de Serge Fuster, chef de district (mission TA67), à lire sur le blog officiel : Un transfert d'enfer.

Très bel accueil à Dumont d'Urville.

Des plis philatéliques, imaginés par Eric Sengler, le gérant postal de la base française (TA67).

Voir ici la position du navire en direct.

Mission en Equateur.


Première rotation du nouvel Astrolabe

  • Mesures epaisseur banquise devant L Astrolabe
  • Eric et manchot Adelie

Me voilà de retour sur la banquise, en Antarctique cette fois. Le bateau rouge est amarré en bordure de glace. Nous faisons d'abord une reco en hélico, avec le chef de mission. Puis je termine les préparatifs de la motoneige, du traineau, et du "glaciomètre" (EM31), utilisés pour mesurer l'épaisseur de la banquise. Ma mission est de valider l'itinéraire pour rejoindre la base de Dumont D'Urville, comme en 2014. 50km à parcourir sur la mer solidement gelée. Objectif : 4 à 500 mètres cubes de fioul à décharger, la moitié de ce qui est nécessaire pour le fonctionnement des programmes français en Antarctique. Le reste sera livré lors des prochaines rotation du navire, avant mars 2018 (début de l'hiver). Il y a urgence, les stocks des bases s'épuisent en cette fin d'hivernage, et les conditions de la saison estivale précédente n'ont permis d'assurer qu'un maigre ravitaillement.

Le 14 septembre 2017, le nouvel Astrolabe a été livré à la Marine Nationale. Le brise-glace rouge sera désormais basé à la Réunion pour assurer le ravitaillement des bases antarctiques françaises en été (Dumont D'Urville et Concordia), et patrouiller dans les eaux des terres australes en hiver (Kerguelen, Crozet, Saint-Paul et Amsterdam, Eparses). Il remplace ainsi l'ancien Astrolabe et l'Albatros (à bord duquel j'étais revenu de Kerguelen en janvier 1995).

3 novembre : lourdement chargé de fioul et de matériel, le patrouilleur polaire quitte Hobart, en Tasmanie, pour la Terre Adélie. Poids du navire en charge : plus de 4000 tonnes. A son bord, 21 marins et 43 passagers, embarqués pour la toute première rotation. Une première pour la Marine Nationale également, dont aucun bateau n'a pas été au sud du 60ème parallèle depuis 65 ans.

7 novembre : escale à l'île Macquarie pour débarquer une dizaine de scientifiques australiens. La mer a été forte, équipage et passagers ont été bien secoués, c'est l'occasion de souffler quelques heures à l'abri de l'île. Un gros mâle éléphant de mer s'approche, 3 orques nous accompagnent, et les albatros sont fidèles.

9 novembre : arrivée dans le pack, premier contact avec la glace pour le nouvel Astrolabe, conçu pour briser 80cm (classe IB5). 4 moteurs pour 9200CV au total.

13 novembre : L'Astrolabe atteint le bord de la banquise, à 60km de la base. Nous sommes accueillis par orques et manchots ! Le mauvais temps suspend les opérations.

14 novembre : l'un des hélicoptères est sorti, vol test, mini reconnaissance, photos aériennes, rien de plus en attendant une meilleure fenêtre météo... nous avons tous hâte de débarquer et de nous activer !

16 novembre : météo favorable ! Une douzaine de vols permettent aux hélicoptères d'apporter le courrier (54 sacs!) et quelques produits frais à la base (isolée depuis mars 2017), puis d'acheminer onze nouveaux hivernants et campagnards d'été, scientifiques et techniciens. Côté navire, début des opérations de ravitaillement de la rotation R0 de la saison 2017-2018. Les habitués des campagnes d'été de l'IPEV (Institut Polaire Français) apprennent peu à peu à travailler avec la Marine Nationale, sous les regards curieux des manchots. Et c'est parti pour la mission banquise !

A lire à propos de l'ancien Astrolabe : L'Astrolabe, le passeur de l'Antarctique, de Daphnée Buiron et Stéphane Dugast chez E/P/A.


Une parenthèse en Equateur

  • Tungurahua depuis Ambato

Aurore (7 ans), Léonie (10 ans), France Pinczon du Sel et moi sommes à Ambato, en Equateur, pour collaborer à la prévention des risques sismiques et volcaniques. Une mission organisée par La Guilde, Ecuasol et l’Union Européenne, du 1er août 2017 au 31 décembre 2018

Pour en savoir plus:

Ce blog : Vagabond / Latitude Zéro

Le site de l’ONG en Equateur : Ecuasol

Des infos sur la Guilde et les volontaires européens : La Guilde

Pendant cette mission qui nous mène loin de l’Arctique, notre voilier polaire Vagabond est installé au sec à Miquelon. Depuis l’année 2000, Vagabond c’est plus de 40 programmes scientifiques, 11 hivernages, et 60 000 miles parcourus dans l’Arctique.